Lung Cancer Working Group

multistakeholder platform with a mission to help improve efficiency in lung cancer care

Although lung cancer represents 13% of the total number of cancer cases in Belgium, there is a lack of support for lung cancer patients compared to other types of cancer like breast cancer. There is a need for more efficiency along the pathway to improve outcomes, such as lung cancer screening, prevention, and patient support.

With new cancer treatments being developed, digitization of healthcare that is advancing and shifting demographics in survivorship of lung cancer, a multistakeholder group focusing on lung cancer can facilitate the development and adoption of solutions for efficient cancer care for lung cancer patients in Belgium.

We believe that collaborating, across boundaries of each organization and as equal partners, is the best way to create a positive impact on the care and quality of life for patients and their families living with lung cancer in Belgium.

The ambition of this Lung Cancer Working Group is to bring stakeholders together to works towards optimal lung cancer care by setting thematic priorities that are supported by each of the stakeholders.

By leveraging the collaboration between patient organizations, patient representatives, healthcare professionals, policy and industry, our Lung Cancer Working Group aims to address those areas where patient needs are the highest.
Prof. dr. Paul Van Schil

Prof. dr. Paul Van Schil

President of IASLC 2023-2025

Prof. dr. Paul Van Schil

Prof. dr. Ingel Demedts

Prof. dr. Ingel Demedts

Chairman of the LCWG - Pulmonologist-thoracic oncologist AZ Delta

Prof. dr. Ingel Demedts

Dr. Didier Vander Steichel

Dr. Didier Vander Steichel

Dr. Didier Vander Steichel

Didier Vander Steichel is the Medical and Scientific Director at the Belgian cancer fund – Stichting tegen Kanker / Fondation contre le Cancer. With extensive expertise in patient information, patient support, prevention and funding of academic cancer research, along with fruitful partnerships, this independent NGO has a comprehensive understanding of what works and what is missing. Regular input from researchers, clinicians, caregivers, patients and their relatives across the entire care spectrum, from prevention to palliative care, further enhance its perspective.

“Efficiency, multidisciplinarity, patient-centricity and patient empowerment are key to sustainable progress in cancer research, care and cure.”

Florence Duvieusart

Florence Duvieusart

Florence Duvieusart

Bart Croes

Bart Croes

Bart Croes

Danielle Derijcke

Danielle Derijcke

Danielle Derijcke

Prof. dr. Jan Van Meerbeeck

Prof. dr. Jan Van Meerbeeck

Longarts-oncoloog/Thoracic Oncologist UZA

Prof. dr. Jan Van Meerbeeck

“Being member of AllCan Belgium allows me to liaise indepently with non-medical stakeholders in the care process of cancer with the aim to improve its overall efficiency and sustainability.”

Cassandra Lecomte

Cassandra Lecomte

Cassandra Lecomte

Johan Thibo

Johan Thibo

Inspiring survivor

Johan Thibo

Ina Gesquiere

Ina Gesquiere

Ina Gesquiere

Prof. dr. Thierry Berghmans

Prof. dr. Thierry Berghmans

Thoracic oncologist Insititut Jules Bordet

Prof. dr. Thierry Berghmans

Dr. Kristof Cuppens

Dr. Kristof Cuppens

Pulmonologist Thoracic oncologist Jessa Ziekenhuis

Dr. Kristof Cuppens

Ann Curias

Ann Curias

Ann Curias

André Stoop

André Stoop

André Stoop

Mitchell Silva

Mitchell Silva

Mitchell Silva

Lung Cancer Working Group

Plateforme multipartite dont la mission est de contribuer à l’efficacité des soins contre le cancer du poumon.

Bien que le cancer du poumon représente 13% du nombre total de cas de cancer en Belgique, il existe un manque de soutien pour les patientes atteintes d'un cancer du poumon par rapport à d'autres types de cancer comme le cancer du sein. Il est nécessaire d’accroître l’efficacité tout au long du parcours pour améliorer les résultats, tels que le dépistage du cancer du poumon, la prévention et le soutien aux patients.

Avec le développement de nouveaux traitements contre le cancer, la numérisation des soins de santé qui progresse et l'évolution démographique de la survie au cancer du poumon, un groupe multipartite se concentrant sur le cancer du poumon peut faciliter le développement et l'adoption de solutions pour des soins efficaces contre le cancer pour les patients atteints d'un cancer du poumon en Belgique.

Nous pensons que collaborer, au-delà des frontières de chaque organisation et en tant que partenaires égaux, est le meilleur moyen de créer un impact positif sur les soins et la qualité de vie des patients et de leurs familles vivant avec un cancer du poumon en Belgique.

L'ambition de ce Lung Cancer Working Group est de rassembler les parties prenantes pour œuvrer en faveur de soins optimaux contre le cancer du poumon en fixant des priorités thématiques soutenues par chacune des parties prenantes.

En tirant parti de la collaboration entre les organisations de patients, les représentants des patients, les professionnels de la santé, les politiques et l'industrie, notre groupe de travail sur le cancer du poumon vise à répondre aux domaines où les besoins des patients sont les plus élevés.
Prof. dr. Ingel Demedts

Prof. dr. Ingel Demedts

Président du LCWG - Pneumologue-oncologue thoracique AZ Delta

Prof. dr. Ingel Demedts

Dr. Didier Vander Steichel

Dr. Didier Vander Steichel

Dr. Didier Vander Steichel

Didier Vander Steichel est le directeur médical et scientifique de la Fondation contre le Cancer/Stichting tegen Kanker.

Forte d’une grande expertise en matière d’information et de soutien aux patients, de prévention et de financement de la recherche universitaire sur le cancer, ainsi que de partenariats fructueux, cette ONG indépendante possède une connaissance approfondie de ce qui fonctionne et de ce qui fait défaut. Les contributions régulières de chercheurs, de cliniciens, de soignants, de patients et de leurs proches dans l’ensemble du spectre des soins, allant de la prévention aux soins palliatifs, renforcent encore sa perspective, perspective que Didier apporte également au conseil d’administration d’All.Can Belgium.

 

« L’efficacité, la pluridisciplinarité, l’approche centrée sur le patient et sa responsabilisation sont les clés d’un progrès durable dans la recherche, les soins et la guérison du cancer »

Florence Duvieusart

Florence Duvieusart

Florence Duvieusart

Bart Croes

Bart Croes

Bart Croes

Danielle Derijcke

Danielle Derijcke

Danielle Derijcke

Prof. dr. Jan Van Meerbeeck

Prof. dr. Jan Van Meerbeeck

Longarts-oncoloog/Thoracic Oncologist UZA

Prof. dr. Jan Van Meerbeeck

« Le fait d’être membre d’AllCan Belgium me permet d’établir une liaison indépendante avec les parties prenantes non médicales dans le processus de soins du cancer, dans le but d’en améliorer l’efficacité et la durabilité. »

Cassandra Lecomte

Cassandra Lecomte

Cassandra Lecomte

Johan Thibo

Johan Thibo

Inspiring survivor

Johan Thibo

Ina Gesquiere

Ina Gesquiere

Ina Gesquiere

Prof. dr. Thierry Berghmans

Prof. dr. Thierry Berghmans

Thoracic oncologist Insititut Jules Bordet

Prof. dr. Thierry Berghmans

Dr. Kristof Cuppens

Dr. Kristof Cuppens

Pulmonologist Thoracic oncologist Jessa Ziekenhuis

Dr. Kristof Cuppens

Ann Curias

Ann Curias

Ann Curias

André Stoop

André Stoop

André Stoop

Mitchell Silva

Mitchell Silva

Mitchell Silva